divine intervention

Emmy looked up at the empty sky�

And asked how much longer god,

How much longer can I keep on doing this before I� before I die�

There was no answer.

Nor did she expect one; the only response was the fear and uncertainty. She knew that there was no providence capable of saving someone from themselves�

She stood at the edge of the parking lot looking towards her car covered with a thin green film of pollen, �Jesus, I�ve turned into my own worst nightmare, I�m so fucking clich� and I know it!� She whirled around to look at the brick building from whence she came and was filled with this inexplicable rage; she wanted to scream fuck you at the top of her lungs. She got into her car, slammed the door and began to cry instead.

An hour earlier she sat waiting, shifting in an uncomfortable chair, pretending to read some tabloid in that brick building. She averted her eyes to the tabloid for fear of looking up and finding one of the other uncomfortable glances in the room staring back at her. She looked back down at her lap intently and realized that she was bouncing her right leg obnoxiously, at that moment a tall thin Asian man walked into the room and called out her name.

As she followed him down the hall with a half hearted smile falling off her face, she sized him up. �He looks like a college student, I am probably older than him, what a terrible cocky expression on his face, I wonder why he has this job anyways�� Her thoughts trailed off as he opened the door to the small office and asked her inside, sticking out his hand for introductions.

Older // Latest