bereft of christian morality

I guess I never gave in to the stereotype of texas; as much as I didn't want to move here in highschool, I also never bought the idea that texas is one big backwards state full of bible thumpers... I aknowledged the fact that these people are everywhere and I felt sorry for them because it takes a lot of fear and insecurity coupled with being raised in a cooker pot environment to grow up to become so ritous and hateful. I met many wonderful and unique people in Dallas and also experienced my first bigoted teacher (ap us government), but the good people outweighed the bad and even that crazy teacher seemed begningn at the time because our country was at a different stage back then... I went back to the east coast and to the wonderful wierd community that is drew, where its cool to be different...


today was really rough for me in many ways- we talked for two hours in communications class about our backgrounds, religious beliefs, upbringing and political views... I was floored by my classmates... I couldn't formulate a sentance... I almost cried just listening to a few people talk about politics and morality and "liberal bastards controlling the media"... I had a really hard time just sitting there and listening, but I am not rightous and outspoken on my beliefs (and sometimes lack thereof, like towards religion)....


so I come home and I go online and I find the website that a classmate brought up today and I read it.... and I cried....

traditional values?


I can't blame it on bush, I can't blame it on religion like my dad, I can't blame it on ignorance... I can't put the blame anywhere really- these are all symptoms of some greater disease that is going to come to a crux, fed by fear and recession.... I really think this is just the tip of the iceberg in so many ways and it frightens me so much... history repeats itself no matter how hard we try because the emotions that breed war and hate never die...

Older // Latest