artistic hours...

So I am watching law and order and doing laundry... yes this makes me happy... what can I say; I'm slightly off...


Anyways I had a lovely day, I was really worried about this semester after how terrible summer classes were, and while my advisor is still a floozie and the majority of the tech population is not, well academically inclined... I am loving art!


I was really nervous about taking two studio art classes this semester... I used to be afraid to show people my artwork because I assumed I was not very good... mostly because I never took classes and my mom and grandma are so talented that I couldn't compare...

Well I am in a design studio art class twice a week for 3 hours a pop and the same for my drawing class... I also have like 6 hours of out of class work a week and I am loving being immersed in it... today in drawing class we were doing graphite and charcoal sketches of these really cool still life boots... we got no instruction other than to do the closest to a finsihed piece we could accomplish in 30 minutes... I set to work... we finished and my professor asked us to all walk around and look at each others and comment on what we liked... the whole class stopped at mine... I was dumbfounded, my teacher asked if I had AP art in highschool or something, I admitted that this was my first actual art class since elementary school... he gave me the nicest compliment I think I have ever recived and it really made my year, he said, "well then, you have some of the best natural talent I have ever seen, I am excited to see your progress."


I was dumbfounded and all warm and fuzzy... I seriously don't know why I didn't do this so much earlier on in life and go for my MFA or something... I am still dedicated to spanish too though... my internship should finally start next week working with spanish speaking kids in the public school system who have little or no english skills and whose families are usually recent immigrants who can't communicate with the school system... I am so excited for that; it's going to be a lot of work, but at least its challenging and maybe I can make friends with the head of the spanish department who runs the program so I can circumvent my worthless advisor a little bit.


What else, I am going to new mexico with jim and his family this weekend, but I have to bring my sketchbook because I have 700, yes 700 thumbnail sketches to do of my still life study! I am amazed that I have been waking up at 620am every day... I am like the uber freshman with 8am classes every day! Jim has been sleeping down here on the nights when we both get up early the next day, and I must admit I like having a warm body next to me to hit and steal the covers from, he has taken to keeping a balnket and pillow down here because apparently my 4 pillows and 2 blankets just arent enough to share... greedy kate! muhaha.


I am missing drew a lot just because school is back in session and i have so many treasured memories there and people I love so so so much there, but this makes the transition easier, all the seniors are already gone, and this would have been most of my other friend's last year. I am missing teenie, but hoping she is well in spain, I am keeping up with jen's journal in samoa and pete's in china... and I always read marissa and erica's... its nice just to hear about their exploits. I hope all the drew kids have a great semester and I want to come visit in the spring when jen and Q are back... such good memories, such good memories...

Older // Latest