Lead souls...

I am running now with this hole in my foot�
Blood sloshed teal stilettos.
Clumsy hands led by a clumsy heart,
This wound of mine; self imposed�
If only she weren�t afraid of phones,
Maybe somebody should call and ambulance?

Good Samaritans whisper on the corner;
Like schoolgirls with their daggers in your back�
Causing irreparable traffic jams on your way to working it all through�.
She says it�s no matter anyway, I�m always late�
Going to show up late for your own funeral her parents always laughed.
But, flashbacks are for the movies;
we live in the white light of our near death experiences everyday�

Does anyone ever really die under the auspice of self-actualization?
Or is it only a concept, like your happiness�
I guess I�ll never know when I keep running marathons�
With these feet leaden down with bullets from my own gun.
You will catch up with her at the finish line,
And when you do�
Tell me how clear that hindsight really is, won�t you?


Older // Latest