Caprock canyons...

So Jim and I fled Lubbock for a nice two day retreat to Caprock Canyons state park just two hours north- north west of here. It was breath-taking and relaxing. I am in the process of trying to master the really advanced capabilities that my cannon has- there are some amazing options for creative-manual shooting, so this trip was a good playground to try some of them out!


I am missing christine and Jen a whole lot and was listening to the mix Jon and Q made me when I went home over winter today. I need to find out when the new madave cd comes out, so I can get it! I am thinking I need to go into debt and fly home for the weekend of christine's 21st! I just need to figure out the logistics and go for it!


as always pictures

in Quitaque Texas we followed some guys to their house to buy firewood and they split it right there; we had an interesting time getting the wet mesquite to lite on the first night, but had a roaring fire on the second!




the canyon at dusk




jim chillaxin at our little campsite




exploring the natural bridge and getting my new hiking shoes caked in red clay!




beware- 16% grade... road may lead to nothingness




big sky country



My compadre



carving out niches in the world




cotton balls...




optical illusions... mirror of sunset skys



even the prettiest view has it's thorns



the conversation ran dry, but the beauty trickled on



meep meep.... road runners! sadly I did not get a picture of the baby bunny that came right up to me and nibbled on my shoe- making my day!




maybe I will leave my mark on the world someday...




smirk




scenic view point




sunset cacti




thorny baby




w.a.s.p.




we just keep working at it...

Older // Latest